Catalog

Record Details

Catalog Search



Safe : a memoir of fatherhood, foster care, and the risks we take for family / Mark Daley.

Summary:
"A heartrending and unforgettable memoir of an unlikely journey to parenthood through America's broken foster care system. What does it take to keep a child safe? As a long-time strategist and activist fighting for better outcomes for foster children, Mark Daley thought he had the answer. But when Ethan and Logan, an adorable infant and a precocious toddler, entered into their lives, Mark and his husband Jason quickly realized they were not remotely prepared for the uncertainty and complication of foster parenting. Every day seven hundred children enter the foster care system in the United States, and thousands more live on the brink. Safe offers a deeply personal window into what happens when the universal longing for family crashes up against the unique madness and bureaucracy of a child protection system that often fails to consider the needs of the most vulnerable parties of all-the children themselves. Daley takes us on a roller coaster ride as he and Jason grapple with Ethan and Logan's potential reunification with their biological family, learn brutal lessons about sacrifice, acceptance, and healing, and face the honest, heartbreaking, and sometimes hilarious challenges of becoming a parent at the intersection of intergenerational trauma, inadequate social support, and systemic issues of prejudice. For fans of Nicole Chung's All You Can Ever Know, Stephanie Land's Maid, and Roxanna Asgarian's We Were Once a Family, this touching and suspenseful memoir highlights the impossible choices all parents, in the foster system and beyond, face in raising children today. Safe shines a much-needed spotlight on how this country treats the most vulnerable among us, sounding a vital call to overhaul a thoroughly broken system"-- Provided by publisher.

Record details

  • ISBN: 9781668008782
  • ISBN: 9781668008799
  • Physical Description: viii, 291 pages ; 24 cm
  • Edition: First Atria Books hardcover edition.
  • Publisher: New York : Atria Books, 2024.

Content descriptions

Bibliography, etc. Note:
Includes bibliographical references (pages 277-282) and index.
Subject: Daley, Mark (Foster child advocate)
Foster parents > United States.
Foster children > United States.
Gay-parent families > United States.
Foster home care > United States.
Child welfare > United States.

Available copies

  • 0 of 1 copy available at Nazareth. (Show)
  • 0 of 1 copy available at Memorial Library of Nazareth and Vicinity.

Holds

  • 0 current holds with 1 total copy.
Show Only Available Copies
Location Call Number / Copy Notes Barcode Shelving Location Status Due Date
Memorial Library of Nazareth and Vicinity 306.874 DAL 2024 (Text) 31001101915214 Adult Non Fiction Checked Out 04/30/2024


Additional Resources